ADOPTED RULES

At its November 29, 2012, meeting, the Texas Ethics Commission voted to adopt the following rule.

Filing Requirements for County Executive Committees
(effective 12-23-12)
Text of Adopted Rule


Filing Requirements for County Executive Committees
Text of Adopted Rule

The new language is indicated by italics.

Chapter 20. REPORTING POLITICAL CONTRIBUTIONS AND EXPENDITURES

Subchapter I. RULES APPLICABLE TO A POLITICAL PARTY'S COUNTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

§ 20.555. County Executive Committee Accepting Contributions or Making Expenditures That Exceed $25,000

(a) A county executive committee described by subsection (b) of this section is subject to the requirements of Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Reporting Requirements for a General-Purpose Committee), except where those rules conflict with this subchapter. In the case of conflict, this subchapter prevails over Subchapter F of this chapter.

(b) A county executive committee that accepts political contributions or that makes political expenditures that, in the aggregate, exceed $25,000 in a calendar year shall file:

(1) a campaign treasurer appointment with the commission no later than the 15th day after the date that amount is exceeded; and

(2) the reports required by Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Reporting Requirements for a General-Purpose Committee). The first report filed must include all political contributions accepted and all political expenditures made before the county executive committee filed its campaign treasurer appointment.

(c) Contributions accepted from corporations and labor organizations under section 253.104 of the Election Code and reported under Subchapter H of this chapter (relating to Accepting and Reporting Contributions from Corporations and Labor Organizations) do not count against the $25,000 thresholds described in subsection (b) of this section.

(d) A county executive committee that filed a campaign treasurer appointment may file a final report, which notify the commission that the county executive committee does not intend to file future reports unless it exceeds one of the $25,000 thresholds. The final report may be filed:

(1) beginning on January 1 and by the January 15 filing deadline if the committee has exceeded one of the $25,000 thresholds in the previous calendar year; or

(2) at any time if the committee has not exceeded one of the $25,000 thresholds in the calendar year.


 
Texas.gov | Texas Homeland Security | Statewide Search | Site Policies