PERSONAL FINANCIAL STATEMENT
Summary of Bills
80th Legislative Session


 

HB 842 – Judges and Justices

Adds Government Code § 572.032(a-1)

HB 842 requires the Commission to remove the home address of a judge or justice from a personal financial statement before providing the statement to a member of the public.  Effective 06/15/07


 

HB 1652 – Provision of Personal Financial Statement Form

Adds Government Code § 572.030(d) and (e)
Amends Government Code § 572.030(b) and (c)

HB 1652 authorizes the Commission to provide the personal financial statement (PFS) form and instructions on the Commission’s Internet website and only to mail a copy of the form and instructions upon request.  It also authorizes the Commission to charge a fee for mailing a requested PFS form and instructions, not to exceed the reasonable cost of production and mailing.  Effective 06/15/07


 

HB 2589 – Corrected Reports

Adds Government Code § 571.0771(c)
Amends Government Code § 571.0771(a) and (b)
Repeals Government Code § 571.0771(b-1) and (b-2)

HB 2589 applies to all reports filed with the Commission.  It provides that a statement, registration, or report (other than a report due 8 days before an election or a special report near election) is not considered late for purposes of a civil penalty if the filer files an affidavit of good faith and a corrected or amended statement, registration, or report not later than 14 business days after the filer learns of the error or omission.  The bill provides that a report due 8 days before an election is not considered late if the Commission determines the report as originally filed substantially complies with the applicable law and the filer files an affidavit of good faith and a corrected report not later than 14 business days after the filer learns of the error or omission.  The bill states that these provisions do not apply to a special report near an election.  The bill provides that the Commission may still impose a penalty on corrected reports covered by the bill through the sworn complaint process and through the audit process.  Effective 09/01/07


 

HB 2839 – Filing Deadline

Amends Government Code § 572.026(b)

HB 2839 applies to individuals appointed to serve as salaried or unsalaried officers of major state agencies and to individuals appointed to fill vacancies in elective offices.  The bill changes the deadline for filing the personal financial statement to the 30th day, rather than the 14th day, after the date of appointment or date of qualification for office.  Effective 05/25/07


 

SB 129 – Gifts

Adds Government Code § 572.022(d)
Amends Government Code § 572.022

SB 129 applies to personal financial statements required to be filed on or after January 1, 2008.  The bill requires the description of a gift of cash or cash equivalent, such as a negotiable instrument or gift certificate, that is reportable on a personal financial statement to include the value of the gift.  Effective 09/01/07

 

Last Revision: July 24, 2009

Texas.gov | Texas Homeland Security | Statewide Search | Site Policies