TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION OFFICE USE ONLY
STATEMENT OF DEFENSE Date Rocoved

Complete this form if you are raising a defense to a late filing.
You must complete either Jurat 1 or Jurat 2 below.

Filer Name Filer ID #

Date Postmarked
| swear, or affirm, under penalty of perjury, that the following statement is in all things Date Processed
true and correct:

This statement is filed for the report due on MID #
(type of report) e
. I learned that the report was late on ’
(report due date) (date)
by

(how filer learned the report was late)

A Statement of Defense must be filed within 60 days, absent good cause for missing the deadline.
Is this affidavit being submitted more than 60 days after the report referenced was due? [ ] Yes [ ] No

If yes, please explain why you have good cause for submitting the affidavit late:

The reasons for requesting a waiver or reduction are (attach additional pages if necessary):

Please complete either option below:

(1) Affidavit

Signature of Filer
NOTARY STAMP /SEAL

Sworn to and subscribed before me by this the day of
20 , to certify which, witness my hand and seal of office.
Signature of officer administering oath Printed name of officer administering oath Title of officer administering oath

(2) Unsworn Declaration

My name is , and my date of birth is
My address is , , , ,
(Street) (City) (State) (County) (Zip Code)
Executed in County, State of , on the day of , 20 .
(date) (month) (year)

Signature of Filer (Declarant)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM

You may use this form to request a waiver or reduction of a fine in connection with a late
report. A Statement of Defense must be filed within 60 days of the date the report was
due. You may include any information that you believe is relevant to your request,
including the reasons why the report was filed late, the date on which and how you
learned that the report was late, and any other facts that you believe qualify you for a
waiver or reduction of the fine. Your request might be denied if you do not provide this
information.

IF YOU FILE A STATEMENT OF DEFENSE, DO NOT ALSO PAY THE FINE. WAIT TO
HEAR FROM THE ETHICS COMMISSION ON A DETERMINATION ON A POSSIBLE
WAIVER OR REDUCTION OF YOUR FINE.

Your statement must include EITHER: 1) a completed Affidavit Jurat, OR 2)
a completed Unsworn Declaration Jurat. If you use the Affidavit Jurat, the statement
must be signed and notarized or sworn before an officer administering an oath.
If you use the Unsworn Declaration Jurat, the statement must be signed and
must include your name, date of birth, and address, and the county, state, and date
of your signature.

Your Statement of Defense may be delivered to the Commission by the following:

. Mail a paper copy of your statement to:

Texas Ethics Commission
P.O. Box 12070
Austin, TX 78711-2070

_Or_
. Email a PDF copy of your statement to:

affidavits@ethics.state.tx.us
Include your Filer ID, name, AFFD, and report type in the subject line.
For example:
Subject Line: "00012345 Jane Doe, AFFD, July 2018 Semiannual late
filing"
_Or_
. Hand deliver a paper copy of your statement to:

Texas Ethics Commission

201 E. 14th St.

Sam Houston Building - 10th Floor
Austin, TX 78701

Additional information regarding the late fine process, and the qualifications for a waiver
or reduction of a late fine, are included on the Commission’s website in the “Administrative
Fines” section at https://www.ethics.state.tx.us/enforcement/.
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