ADOPTED RULES

At its December 14, 2018, meeting, the Texas Ethics Commission voted to adopt the following amended rules: §§12.35, 26.1 and 50.1. The text of the new and amended rules is located below.

§12.35.  Frivolous Complaint.
(effective January 6, 2019)
Text of Adopted Rule

§26.1.  Disclosure Statement.
(effective January 6, 2019)
Text of Adopted Rule

§50.1.  Legislative Per Diem.
(effective January 6, 2019)
Text of Adopted Rule


§12.35.  Frivolous Complaints.
Text of Adopted Rule

The deleted language is indicated by [strikethrough] text.

Chapter 12. SWORN COMPLAINTS

§12.35. Frivolous Complaint.

[(a) By a record vote of at least six commissioners, the commission may order a complainant to show cause why the commission should not determine that the complaint filed by the complainant is a frivolous complaint.]

[(b)] In deciding if a complaint is frivolous, the commission will be guided by the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 13, and interpretations of that rule, and may also consider:

[(c) Notice of a show cause hearing must be given at least 10 business days before the date of the hearing. Notice shall be sent by registered or certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested.

(d) Notice of an order to show cause shall include:

(e) Before making a determination that a complaint is a frivolous complaint, the commission shall hold a hearing at which the complainant may be heard and may be represented by counsel retained by the complainant.]


§26.1.  Disclosure Statement.
Text of Adopted Rule

The new language is indicated by underlined text.
The deleted language is indicated by [strikethrough] text.

Chapter 26. POLITICAL AND LEGISLATIVE ADVERTISING

§26.1.  Disclosure Statement.

(a) A disclosure statement that is required by §255.001, Election Code, must contain the words "political advertising" or any recognizable abbreviation, and must:

(b) A disclosure statement is not required on political advertising printed on letterhead stationery if the letterhead contains the full name of one of the following:

(c) A disclosure statement is not required on: [on]

(d) For the purposes of subsection (c) of this section, an “Internet social media profile webpage” is an Internet webpage on a website where members of the public may, for no charge, connect electronically with other members of the public and share text, images, videos, and similar forms of communications.


§50.1.  Legislative Per Diem.
Text of Adopted Rule

The new language is indicated by underlined text.
The deleted language is indicated by [strikethrough] text.

Chapter 50. LEGISLATIVE SALARIES AND PER DIEM

§50.1.  Legislative Per Diem.

(a) The legislative per diem is $221 [$190].  The per diem is intended to be paid to each member of the legislature and the lieutenant governor for each day during the regular session and for each day during any special session.

(b) If necessary, this rule shall be applied retroactively to ensure payment of the $221 [$190] per diem for 2019 [2015].

Texas.gov | Texas Homeland Security | Statewide Search | Site Policies