Starting To Lobby
Checklist for Starting Your Lobbying
- Determine whether you are lobbying. Lobbying is making direct communications with members of the legislative or executive branch of Texas state government to influence legislation or administrative action.
- Determine whether you are required to register as a lobbyist. You are required to register if you:
- Receive or are entitled to receive more than $1,000 in a calendar quarter as compensation or reimbursement to lobby; or
- Expend more than $500 in a calendar quarter to benefit a state officer or employee (or his or her immediate family) when the expenditures are made to communicate to influence legislation or administrative action.
- File a Lobby ID Request/Name Change Form with TEC in order to obtain a File ID number necessary for filing a registration.
- File a lobby registration electronically, unless you qualify to file on paper, with the TEC no later than five days after the date you make the communication that requires you to register.
- File lobby activities reports monthly to report your expenditures. (You may file annually if you intend to make less than $1,000 in lobby expenditures during the calendar year.)
- Renew your lobby registration each year that you are lobbying.
- Continue filing lobby activities reports as long as your lobby registration is on file with the TEC.
Please note that there is an exception for incidental lobbying. (See Lobbying in Texas: A Guide to the Texas Law.)
Ending Your Lobbying
Checklist for Ending Your Lobbying
- Determine whether you have stopped lobbying before your lobby registration automatically expires on December 31.
- File a lobby termination notice with the TEC along with your final lobby activities report if you have stopped lobbying before your lobby registration for that year expires.